| E-mail Us |

Nominations for the 2020 Michael Wormit Award

The Michael Wormit Award - established to recognize excellence in the development of new methods and algorithms in the area of electronic structure and implementing these methods in state-of-the art computer codes within the Q-Chem open teamware community project. The award, which will be given annually, includes a certificate and $500 prize. It commemorates contributions of Dr. Michael Wormit who is remembered for his state-of-the-art developments of many-body methods, for his leadership in the community, for his educating and mentoring of junior team members, and for his infrastructure development.

Any member of the Q-Chem Developers community is eligible for the award.

Selection criteria:
(i) scientific innovation;
(ii) excellence in code development;
(iii) contributions to the infrastructure and developers community.

Nominations will be solicited annually. The selection will be performed by an ad hoc committee appointed by the Q-Chem Board of Directors. The nomination should include the following items:

  • a nomination letter which includes a short description of his/her contributions to the code, infrastructure, and the community
  • CV of the nominee
  • a second support letter

Nominations should be sent to office@q-chem.com with the subject "Wormit Award Nomination" by January 15, 2020. The award winner will be announced soon thereafter, with the intention of recognizing the winner with a reception at an event/conference yet to be determined.

Former Michael Wormit Award Recipients

Prof. Martin Head-Gordon and Prof. Anna Krylov present Wormit Award to Joonho Lee



Dr. Joonho Lee

(pictured here on the right, receiving the award from Prof. Martin Head-Gordon and Prof. Anna Krylov)
Dr. Alec White



Dr. Alec White
Dr. Andrew Gilbert



Dr. Andrew Gilbert
Dr. Evgeny Epifanovsky



Dr. Evgeny Epifanovsky