| E-mail Us |

Nominations for the 2019 Michael Wormit Award

The Michael Wormit Award - established to recognize excellence in the development of new methods and algorithms in the area of electronic structure and implementing these methods in state-of-the art computer codes within the Q-Chem open teamware community project. The award, which will be given annually, includes a certificate and $500 prize. It commemorates contributions of Dr. Michael Wormit who is remembered for his state-of-the-art developments of many-body methods, for his leadership in the community, for his educating and mentoring of junior team members, and for his infrastructure development.

Any member of the Q-Chem Developers community is eligible for the award.

Selection criteria:
(i) scientific innovation;
(ii) excellence in code development;
(iii) contributions to the infrastructure and developers community.

Nominations will be solicited annually. The selection will be performed by an ad hoc committee appointed by the Q-Chem Board of Directors. The nomination should include the following items:

  • a nomination letter which includes a short description of his/her contributions to the code, infrastructure, and the community
  • CV of the nominee
  • a second support letter

Nominations should be sent to office@q-chem.com with the subject "Wormit Award Nomination" by February 15, 2019. The award winner will be announced soon thereafter, and the award will be presented at the ACS meeting to be held in San Dieo in August 2019.

Former Michael Wormit Award Recipients



Dr. Alec White



Dr. Andrew Gilbert



Dr. Evgeny Epifanovsky